FAQ

HousepartyFortnite Mode

FAQ for Houseparty

What is Houseparty?

Houseparty is a social networking app that allows up to eight people to video chat at once in a “room.” Users can have infinite rooms and easily float between rooms. Users receive a notification when friends open the app and can join chats with friends (and friends of friends).

How do I download Houseparty?

Houseparty is available on iOS, Android, Mac, PC, and as a Google Chrome extension.

What about the hacking rumors about Houseparty, is my data safe?

Houseparty is secure. There have been no data breaches and no exposure of customer data or third-party accounts.You can read our full statement on the topic to learn more.

How do I add friends in Houseparty?

The plus icon in the top right corner allows you to find your contacts, and group multiple people together into a ‘Houseparty’ for group calls. Or, you can tap the smiley face in the top left and click on Add Friends.

Screenshots of Bring Friends and Friend Request in Houseparty

How do I play games with friends in Houseparty?

Click on the dice icon on the top right to play the games available on Houseparty Heads Up!, Trivia, Quick Draw, and Chips and Guac!

Tap a game and you’ll then be asked to add friends to play with you. Wait for them to connect, then it’s game on!

How do I invite friends to Houseparty?

Tap the plus button in the top right to Invite New Friends or tap on the smiley in the top left and tap Add Friends. If you want to add friends from your Address Book, you can tap Add from Contacts. We’ll double check that you want to upload your Contacts to find your friends. You can also connect to Facebook to add your Facebook friends if you want to. If you want to add friends from Snapchat, you can tap Add from Snapchat to share your Profile Link to your Snap Story.

How do I manage my Houseparty notifications?

Tap on the smiley, hit manage notifications, and then you can toggle off or on both ‘in the house’ and specific friend notifications.

How do I sneak into Houseparty without my contacts knowing?

On iOS and Android, hold down the app icon to ‘Sneak into the House’.This allows users to open and use Houseparty without alerting their contacts. Additionally if you’re on mobile you can update your preferences to say “never send notification when I open houseparty” if you wish!

How do I report someone for bullying in Houseparty?

To report this person, tap their name, then tap the “Friends” button and choose “Report” for “Report or Block”.

You can also remove them as a friend by tapping the “Unfriend” button. Remember you can always lock your party to keep out unwanted guests, until you or someone else in the room unlocks it!

If you have any questions on our Privacy Policy or the Houseparty Guidelines visit the links included to learn more!

Please contact us at data-requests@houseparty.com if you have any questions about our Privacy Policy.

Fortnite Mode

What is Fortnite Mode?

Fortnite Mode lets you cast your party into Fortnite so you can bring your friends with you while you play. You opt in to this feature by linking your Houseparty and Epic Games accounts on the Houseparty app.

Who can join my party in Houseparty?

Only your Houseparty friends, and the friends of anyone in your Houseparty room, can join your video chat.

If I use this feature, who can see my video?

Only people in your Houseparty “room” can see you on video within the Houseparty app. Once you open Fortnite, you can still only see the video of other people in the Houseparty room.

If you are in a video chat with a participant who is recording or streaming (e.g. to YouTube or Twitch), you may appear in their stream or video content.

How does audio work in Fortnite Mode?

If you cast your Houseparty video chat into Fortnite, your audio will be controlled by Fortnite. To mute or unmute, use your Fortnite settings.

How do I block someone that I don’t want in my video chat?

It’s easy to block anyone that you don’t want in your video chat.

Within Houseparty, tap on anyone’s face and tap Block.

If you need to report activity in Houseparty, take the following steps:

You can also remove them as a friend by selecting the “Unfriend” button. You can always lock your party to keep out unwanted guests, until you or someone else in the room unlocks it!

Image instructing how to block or report someone in Houseparty

Within Fortnite, utilize the Report A Player functionality. Open the settings menu and select Settings>Reporting/Feedback>Report A Player. Within the Report A Player pop up, select your reason for reporting (Offensive Language, Offensive Video, Harassment, etc.). You will also have the option to block the player from chat and joining your party. For further assistance, read our Report A Player help article.

Image instructing how to block or report someone in Fortnite

What does blocking do in Houseparty?

If you block someone on Houseparty, they will be removed as your friend and they will be unable to communicate with you. If you join a party with a mutual friend of someone you’ve blocked, they could join the party but neither of you will see or hear each other.

How do I keep other Houseparty friends from joining my room?

While in Houseparty, at the bottom of the screen, you should see a lock icon. Tap it to block further users from joining your room. You or anyone in your Houseparty room can unlock the room at any time.

Will Houseparty video chat be integrated on other gaming platforms?

At the moment, it’s only available for PC and PlayStation (both PS5 and PS4). We will let everyone know if we’re able to support more platforms in the future.

What are the Houseparty Community Guidelines?

Read them here.

Why do I have to have a virtual background when one of my party members is using Fortnite?

When someone in your Houseparty room turns on Fortnite Mode, everyone in the room will automatically receive a Fortnite-themed [Frame] as their virtual background. When you see the video on Fortnite, you’ll see a zoomed in and cropped frame of the person’s face and their virtual background. This keeps video chats focused on faces and reduces the likelihood of inappropriate content.

How do I lock my room?

If you want to limit access to a room you’re in, you can lock it using the lock button screen. You or anyone in your Houseparty room can unlock the room at any time.You can also turn on Private Mode in your settings to automatically lock all rooms. You or anyone in your Houseparty room have to approve friends before they can join a locked room.

FacebookInstagramTwitter